Unqualified

It’s a Thursday. Or is it a Wednesday? I’m not really sure. The days of summer seem to all blend together without much distinction. Not that I’m complaining. I mean, these are the days teachers live for, right? But this summer is different. It hasn’t been about working on long-overdue projects or deep cleaning my kitchen or thinking about what my classroom will look like when I go back to school. Because….well, I’m not going back to the classroom. I made the decision several months ago that I needed a break from 11-hour work days and 19-minute lunches in hopes of transitioning to a more flexible job that would actually help me pay the bills in the midst of this crazy inflation.

So once that last school box was packed and put into storage, I entered the highly intimidating world of the job hunt. I spent a week or so working through my transitioning teacher course, learning how to create a LinkedIn account, networking, resume writing and exploring which career path I wanted to go down. It was overwhelming at first, but I was doing it. I was moving forward. I was on track. I was ready to apply! Or so I thought.

Once I actually started searching for jobs and reading the job descriptions, responsibilities and requirements needed, I quickly became overwhelmed. I mean, I wasn’t being unrealistic and choosing jobs like Digital Marketing Manager or Business Analyst. But, as a teacher, I’ve developed curriculum. Curriculum Developer should be up my alley, right? Wrong. Here’s just a snipet of a posting:

  • Work under the direction of the Practice Manager and assigned SMEs to shape instructor-led and e-learning modules for role-based users.
  • Given course objectives, product use cases, and technical resources (product documentation, presentations, and videos), create immersive, learner centric courses that achieve the stated objectives.
  • Work both independently and cross-functionally with subject matter experts to shape effective instructional content using realistic business examples and appropriate hands-on activities.
  • Reverse engineer internal content (presentations, webinars, documentation) into instructional content.
  • Create validation activities to measure learning attainment of course objectives.

Whaaaa….???? Somebody get me a dictionary. STAT.

And if that wasn’t confusing enough, I was even more overwhelmed by the requirements. A bachelor’s degree, I have. But experience in designing and developing software? Expertise in programs like Camtasia and Articulate Storyline? Superb technical troubleshooting skills? Nope. Nope. Aaaaand Nope.

Now, I know what you business-minded people are thinking and I know it too. The job description is a wish list….they don’t expect everyone to have all the qualifications….you have to learn how to sell yourself and translate your skills to the corporate world. I get it. I’ve done it. But after searching hours on end for something I feel like I could actually do, I often end up feeling completely, utterly, and totally….

UNQUALIFIED.

And even if I did submit an application for a job possibility, who’s to say that out of the other 216 people who also sent in resumes (most of whom have master’s degrees), that a company would even think to choose mine? And IF, by some sheer stroke of luck, I’d get chosen to interview, would I be able to answer the questions intelligently and confidently? At the end of the day, they might just say, “Look. You’ve only been a Kindergarten teacher for the last 12 years. You’re great at teaching kids to read and tying their shoes and dealing with tattling. But that doesn’t fit into the corporate world. You’re just not qualified.”

Or in other words, “You don’t measure up to our ridiculously high standard of being perfect for the job.”

The world is constantly telling us we don’t “qualify”, isn’t it? We look at Instagram and see that we’re not nearly as fashionable as all those clothing ads tell us we need to be. Or maybe our kid isn’t participating in all the sports and activities our friends’ kids are. Someone got that new job or promotion while we’re hoping we have enough money to pay the bills this month. Perhaps we just aren’t capable enough. Not competent enough. Not qualified in the different roles in which we find ourselves. Not able to attain a level of what seems to be the “perfect” fit for the job. There’s always someone who seems to be doing it better than we are.

And that’s the ironic thing with resume writing, I’ve learned. You have to assume you’ll do it better than anyone, that YOU are the perfect fit for the job, that there’s no way they could pick anyone else but you. That way of thinking is contrary to every bone in my body. And perhaps contrary to the life we’re called to live as humble Christian servants.

I mean, can you imagine me handing in a resume to God at the end of my life listing the accomplishments I’ve done here on earth? Surely, He’d let me into heaven if He knew all the amazing things I had done!

I’ve helped make sandwiches for the homeless before, so let’s see….that could translate to “Created edible sustenance for marginalized groups of humanity.” Oh, and I almost always made sure my kids went to church, so that might read, “Achieved 98% attendance rate among clients in a worship setting.” And let’s not forget all the times I sent cards to people who had experienced some kind of loss. I think “Used exemplary written communication skills to effectively minister to others” might do the trick. This resume is looking pretty good!

Now imagine I hand over the beautifully-formatted paper to God. God looks at the list and frowns. Maybe He even laughs. He tears up that resume in one swift rip, looks me straight in the eye and declares, “Unqualified!” I’m crushed. I’m heartbroken. I’m incredulous. “But I’ve done so much! How was it not enough?” I plead.

And just when I thought that was the end, Jesus steps in. He puts His own resume in my hand and says, “Here. Use this one.” I look it over and shake my head. There are things on this resume that are so completely impossible that there is no way I can claim this as my own. I read the list. Never sinned… obeyed perfectly…fulfilled every prophecy…sacrificed own life for sins of all people…rose from the dead. My eyes fill with tears. “But…I haven’t done any of these things, Jesus,” I say.

“No, you haven’t. But I have.”

Here’s the other thing I’ve learned about the job hunt and getting your foot in the door. It’s greatly dependent about who you know. It helps immensely to know or be connected to someone who already works at the company, someone who can put in a good word for you. Someone to vouch for you.

And when it comes to getting not just your foot, but your very soul into the door of heaven….the ONLY thing that matters is Who you know. Your resume of good works won’t matter. Your looks won’t matter. Your education won’t matter. Your popularity won’t matter. Your bank account won’t matter. There’s just ONE way through the door of eternal life, and it’s faith in what Jesus did on HIS resume.

My friends, the fact that we get to hand Jesus’ resume to His Father and claim our name on it is the very definition of grace. It defies all logic. It makes no sense. It is just a radical a concept as me turning in a resume to the largest Fortune 500 company, listing that I am somehow qualified to do 100% of the skills they’re looking for, when I really can do 0%.

And yet, God knew this. He knew we couldn’t do it on our own. He knew our own earthly achievements would never be enough to spend eternity with Him. He could have left us. Abandoned us. Told us to figure it out on our own. But He didn’t. So He sent Jesus.

“For God so loved the world, that He sent His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.” ~ John 3:16

He chose to love, despite our failings. Despite our incompetency. Despite our lack of capability. Despite our UNqualifications. He takes His Son’s resume, but sees our name. He doesn’t laugh. He smiles. And this time when He looks us in the eye, He speaks a most beautiful word over us.

“QUALIFIED.”

Author: toiletonthesidewalk

I'm a single mom to two beautiful children...a daughter who still lives on this earth with me. And a son who went to live with Jesus in September of 2016. Trying to figure out how to survive this journey of grief one day at a time and give glory to God in the process.

Leave a comment